'Gimme the Loot', 'Beware of Mr. Baker' win top SXSW film jury prizes
March 14th, 2012
01:42 PM ET

'Gimme the Loot', 'Beware of Mr. Baker' win top SXSW film jury prizes

“Gimme the Loot,” the story of two New York graffiti artists, and “Beware of Mr. Baker,” a documentary about Cream drummer Ginger Baker, won the top jury prizes at the 2012 SXSW Film Festival on Tuesday night.

Adam Leon directed the narrative “Gimme the Loot,” which follows graffiti writers Malcolm and Sofia as they try to raise the cash to pull off a major spray painted stunt.

Beware of Mr. Baker,” directed by Jay Bulger,  tells the story of the Cream and Blind Faith drummer, who's now in his 70s and living in South Africa.

Audience awards went to “Eden,” a narrative directed by Megan Griffiths and inspired by the real story of a sex trafficking victim, and “Bay of All Saints,” a documentary directed by Annie Eastman, about families being forced out of a slum in Bahia, Brazil.

Here’s the full list of winners:

Feature Film Jury Awards

Documentary feature: “Beware of Mr. Baker,” directed by Jay Bulger

Narrative feature: “Gimme The Loot,” directed by Adam Leon

Special jury recognition of performance: Jamie Chung, “Eden”; Besedka Johnson, “Starlet”; Nico Stone, “Booster”

Feature Film Audience Awards

Documentary feature: “Bay of All Saints,” directed by Annie Eastman

Narrative feature: “Eden,” directed by Megan Griffiths

Short Film Jury Awards

Narrative short: “The Chair,” directed by Grainger David

Documentary short: “CatCam,” directed by Seth Keal

Midnight short: “Don’t Hug Me I’m Scared,” directed by Rebecca Sloan and Joseph Pelling

SXGlobal short: “The Perfect Fit,” directed by Tali Yankelevich

Animated short: “(notes on) biology,” directed by Danny Madden

Music video : Battles, "My Machines,” directed by DANIELS

Texas short: “Spark,” directed by Annie Silverstein

Texas high school short: “Boom,” directed by Matyas and Brian Broder

SXSW Film Design Awards

Excellence in poster design: “Man & Gun,” designed by Justin Cox

Special jury recognition: "Pitch Black Heist," designed by Andrew Cranston

Audience award winner: "The Maker," designed by Christopher Kezelos

Excellence in title design: “Les Bleus de Ramville,” designed by Jay Bond, Oily Film Company Inc.

Special jury recognition: “X-Men: First Class,” designed by Simon Clowes, Prologue Films

Audience award winner: “Bunraku,” designed by Guilherme Marcondes, Hornet Inc.

SXSW Special Awards

Wholphin award: “The Black Balloon,” directed by Benny Safdie and Josh Safdie

Chicken & Egg Emergent Narrative Woman Director award: Megan Griffiths for “Eden” and Amy Seimetz for “Sun Don’t Shine”

Louis Black “Lone Star” award: “Bernie,” directed by Richard Linklater

Special jury recognition: “Trash Dance,” directed by Andrew Garrison

Post by:
Filed under: movies • SXSW 2012

soundoff (No Responses)

Post a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

About this blog

Our daily cheat-sheet for breaking celebrity news, Hollywood buzz and your pop-culture obsessions.