CNN Heroes pre-show: The live blog
November 20th, 2010
08:02 PM ET

CNN Heroes pre-show: The live blog

Who's ready for a little red carpet fun?

CNN is out in Los Angeles tonight for the taping of "CNN Heroes: An All-Star Tribute," and it will definitely be all star. Bon Jovi, Sugarland and John Legend featuring Common and Melanie Fiona are going to rock the house, and celebs like Halle Berry, Kid Rock, Aaron Eckhart, LL Cool J and Jessica Alba will be on hand to help honor this year's top 10 heroes.

Keep checking back here for updates live from our social suite! And if you're not already, be sure to check out our live stream of the red carpet at CNN.com/Showbiz.

Hope you enjoy the (pre) show!

5:16 p.m. PT/8:16 p.m. ET: Holly Robinson Peete is here in our social suite! She's tonight's pre-show host, and she'll be hanging out with us, chatting with everyone who comes through. Check out her tweets: @hollyrpeete

5:36 p.m. PT/8:36 p.m. ET: The place is getting packed as the CNN Heroes take a stroll on the red carpet.

5:46 p.m. PT/ 8:46 p.m. ET: Mayim Bialik and Sugarland have arrived - plus, we've heard a little rumor that Joey Lawrence might be showing up as well. "Blossom" reunion?

5:53 p.m. PT/8:53 p.m. ET: Holly's totally in her element - for those of you who follow her on Twitter, you know she's no stranger to social media. But the number one rule for tweeting, she says? Never forget that once it's out there, it's out! Take note, guys.

5:55 p.m. PT/8:55 p.m. ET: Oh, well who do we have here, strolling across our social suite stage - none other than Jon Bon Jovi. He threw a wink to the crowd trying to get his attention.

5:58 p.m. PT/8:58 p.m. ET: Sugarland is here and they look amazing! They're currently hanging with us in the social suite - check out their tweets @Sugarlandmusic.

6:00 p.m. PT/9:00 ET: JR Martinez is in the house, and he says he's most looking forward to checking out all the awesome stuff everyone has done. The stars in the house tonight? Definitely the CNN Heroes, he said. (And by the way, he totally saved a CNN'er from taking a tumble off the stage - good looking out JR!)

6:07 p.m. PT/6:07 ET: LL Cool J's here! He's greeting the crowd that is crammed in behind the social suite stage.

6:14 p.m. PT/9:14 p.m. ET: We just chatted with LL, who's presenting an award tonight. He said that he loves "the idea of giving someone an award for doing something that's truly heroic. A lot of the time in Hollywood we get removed, and we forget about the people who are working hard all over the other country."

Oh, and guess what: He says he's definitely working another album, although he wouldn't spill more deets.

6:26 p.m. PT/9:26 p.m. ET: Emmy Rossum's here, looking lovely in a one-shouldered white dress. Guess who she's looking forward to seeing? The Chilean miners. (Aren't we all?)

6:30 p.m. PT/9:30 p.m. ET: Kevin Eubanks whipped out the iPhone to show #CNNHeroes a little Twitter love. We asked him if he's been watching "Conan," and he had a nice long laugh before he said hadn't been. Not yet, anyway.

6:32 p.m. PT/9:32 p.m. ET: Common's hanging with us before his set with John Legend and Melanie Fiona - they'll be performing a song called "Wake Up." Check out his tweets: @Common - he said he's ready for an emotional night.

6: 44 p.m. PT/9:44 p.m. ET: Alright guys, we're getting ready to wrap. In the words of Holly Robinson Peete, "it's been fun!" Thanks to Holly for holding down our social suite and tweeting away - you can catch the show on Thanksgiving night on CNN!


Filed under: Celebrities • CNN Heroes

soundoff (9 Responses)
  1. babycelebs411

    good show..can't wait. we have our celebrity baby birthday today and our little twist on the celebration: http://babycelebs411.com/2010/11/22/heidi-klums-son-johan-is-celebrating-his-4th-birthday-today/

    November 22, 2010 at 2:11 am | Report abuse |
  2. Teraisa J. Rogers

    You guys are right on; the stars are fun, but the real stars are our true heroes! I'm looking forward Thanksgiving evening. Good luck to the Amazing Ten!

    November 22, 2010 at 1:43 am | Report abuse |
  3. odalice feliz

    the show most be good!

    November 21, 2010 at 1:41 pm | Report abuse |
  4. babycelebs411

    looking forward to watching:) meanwhile more stars and on our latest predictions on Camille Grammer and her future without Kelsey:http://celebs911.com/2010/11/21/life-without-kelsey-grammer-read-on-camille/

    November 21, 2010 at 12:38 pm | Report abuse |
  5. SKY

    FACT: ONE WORD "F I N E"

    November 21, 2010 at 2:04 am | Report abuse |
  6. TC

    Smile and wave! Right back atcha love!

    November 20, 2010 at 10:18 pm | Report abuse |
  7. me

    who cares if the "stars" are arriving!

    November 20, 2010 at 9:28 pm | Report abuse |
    • Big Daddy T

      I am so with you me...who freaking cares if the "stars" are arriving! I am, however, proud of the 10 people who take part in making this country great!

      November 20, 2010 at 10:03 pm | Report abuse |

Post a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Advertisement
About this blog

Our daily cheat-sheet for breaking celebrity news, Hollywood buzz and your pop-culture obsessions.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,765 other followers